TAANDLAACHE THAALIPEETH (SAVOURY RICE FLOUR PANCAKE)

Taandlaache thalipeeth is a speciality of the NKGSB cuisine of Karwar. It is a crisp savoury pancake made using rice semolina which is prepared at home itself and is had for breakfast. In other regions like Maharashtra, thalipeeth is made using a particular mix of flours called as bhaajani.

Here I have used rice flour and added some Jowar flour to it to increase it’s nutritional value and softness! Taandlache thaalipeeth is a very simple and easy dish to prepare. A very healthy breakfast dish and a good and filling option for tiffins too.

For more such options do give a try to :

1) Goad Poale or

2) Sweet Potato Corn Chaat

INGREDIENTS :

  • 2 cups Rice flour
  • 1 cup Jowar flour
  • 4-5 medium Onions
  • 8 Green chillies
  • Salt to taste
  • Oil for roasting
  • Homemade butter

METHOD :

  1. To make the taandlaache thaalipeeth, finely chop the onions and the green chillies and keep aside.
  2. Transfer all the mentioned ingredients except oil and butter and knead into a soft spreadable dough using sufficient water.
  3. Heat a cast iron skillet and spread some oil over it.
  4. On a greased plastic sheet or a tightly squeezed wet cloth, spread a portion of the dough into a disc, using wettened fingers. Make a small hole in the centre.
  5. Wet your palms and transfer the disc on the hot griddle. Spread some water on the top surface of the thalipeeth for better cooking. Drizzle some oil through the centre hole and around the thaalipeeth. Cover with a lid and roast on high flame.
  6. Open the lid after about a minute or two and when the thalipeeth is roasted on the underside, flip over and roast on the other side too giving a little pressure on the edges. Use oil as required.
  7. Transfer to a plate after well roasted, crisp and a bit charred on both sides.
  8. Serve hot with a good smear of some homemade butter to give that delicious flavour to the thalipeeth.

Soft Thaalipeeth Dough :

Author: tastyrecipesfrompooja

An artist by nature, I love painting, travelling to different places and photographing nature, gardening, crochet, reading, etc. It's my nature to give my best to anything and everything I do. From a person who could cook very few dishes..... I have converted myself to a person who now can cook varied dishes! I like perfection in all my work. Reading a lot of recipes, watching different famous chefs' cooking shows on television and observing their methods, techniques and tips very closely and studiously ....is what has made me a very good cook today. Though there are numerous recipes I haven't tried my hand at..... there are many other in which I have gained exerpertise only by trial and error! I still watch all interesting cookery shows on TV to gain more knowledge on cooking techniques of other cultures from here and abroad!! Nowadays, I have started adding healthy twists to my dishes as and when I can without compromising on their original taste. Started this blog to share a few recipes of mine with all other cooking enthusiasts! Happy cooking to all! πŸ˜ƒ

12 thoughts on “TAANDLAACHE THAALIPEETH (SAVOURY RICE FLOUR PANCAKE)”

    1. These thalipeeth are indeed very delicious and mild in taste. And they are quite easy to make even if you are attempting them for the first time. Just prepare the soft dough and flatten with wettened palms to prevent the dough from sticking to the fingers! You can add any other healthy flours of your choice to the dough to make it more nutritious!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes, sure. And never be afraid of mistakes. How many have I made in the initial years after I started cooking! I’ve learnt by trial n error n my mistakes! 😊 Go ahead and give it a try…. And as it’s said “Try try till you succeed! ” Well I do exactly that in whatever I do!! πŸ‘

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment