PAAPLETAA AAMBAT

Paapletaa Aambat….. is what Pomfret curry is called in Konkani. This recipe is almost similar to the Sungta Aambat recipe from Karwar which I have posted earlier. But in my mom’s childhood, pomfret wasn’t available in Karwar. So, this curry wasn’t made there. But the NKGSBs who had settled in Mumbai by then had learnt to make pomfret curry in their own style!

As I have mentioned earlier, Sola i.e. dried Vatambe are used in fish gravies by the NKGSB cuisine to impart sourness to the fish gravies. It shouldn’t be confused with kokum which too is called sola by some! As these sola aren’t available here, I have substituted it with tamarind.

If you like fish curries, do give a try to the……

  1. Sungta Aambat
  2. Tisryache Kaalvan
  3. Khekdyaache Kaalvan
  4. Mori Aambat

Presenting here the pomfret curry made by my mom….

Prep Time : 25 min

Cooking Time : 25 min

Serves : 4

INGREDIENTS :

  • 1 Large Pomfret (8-10 pomfret pieces)
  • 1 1/2 cup Fresh grated coconut
  • 1 Small Onion
  • 2 Tsp Tamarind
  • 2 Tbs Corriander seeds
  • 3-4 Dry red Bedgi chillies
  • 3 Black peppercorns
  • 1/2 Tsp Ginger julienes
  • 1 Tsp Turmeric powder
  • 1 Tsp Red chilli powder (if desired)
  • 1 Tbs Oil
  • Salt to taste

METHOD :

1. Clean and thoroughly wash the pomfret. Cut it into 1 cm thick pieces.

2. Apply a tiny amount of turmeric powder to the pieces and keep aside.

3. Chop the onion finely reserving 1/4 piece for grinding.

4. In a small kadhai, heat a few drops of oil and roast the corriander seeds and red chillies in it. Grind them together with the grated coconut, tamarind, peppercorns, reserved onion piece, red chilli powder into a fine paste using sufficient water.

5. In a saucepan add oil and heat it. Add the chopped onions and saute till they turn a little blackish.

6. Add the turmeric powder and mix. Add the ground masala, salt to taste and water as required to get a medium thick gravy.

7. Bring to a boil and add the ginger julienes. Now add the pomfret pieces and mix lightly. Reduce flame and simmer for about 7-8 minutes for the coconut to cook.

8. Switch off the flame and serve hot with steamed rice, or soft fresh Bhaakari or Ghaavan, fried pomfret and Kokum Kadhi!

Picture of dried Vataambe pieces :

Author: tastyrecipesfrompooja

An artist by nature, I love painting, travelling to different places and photographing nature, gardening, crochet, reading, etc. It's my nature to give my best to anything and everything I do. From a person who could cook very few dishes..... I have converted myself to a person who now can cook varied dishes! I like perfection in all my work. Reading a lot of recipes, watching different famous chefs' cooking shows on television and observing their methods, techniques and tips very closely and studiously ....is what has made me a very good cook today. Though there are numerous recipes I haven't tried my hand at..... there are many other in which I have gained exerpertise only by trial and error! I still watch all interesting cookery shows on TV to gain more knowledge on cooking techniques of other cultures from here and abroad!! Nowadays, I have started adding healthy twists to my dishes as and when I can without compromising on their original taste. Started this blog to share a few recipes of mine with all other cooking enthusiasts! Happy cooking to all! 😃

Leave a comment