KARWARI SARASWAT SAAMBAR MASALA

Saraswat Saambar Masala is a special masala (ground spices mix) made by the NKGSB community of KARWAR ( the Smaarth community people from the Gaud Saraswat sect). It’s made using a very few ingredients and is used in vegetables and curries with some jaggery and coconut which together taste heavenly! It’s also used in the making of the delicious fish cutlet, Tisrya Vade.

Generally the word Saambar will bring to your mind the image of the South Indian Saambar. But this Saraswat Saambar masala is simply not used for making any Saambar! It’s just the name of the garam masala made by the NKGSB community, in Konkani language!

It’s quite an aromatic and flavourful masala. It has a typical taste and flavour. There are two ways of making this masala. One way is by heating the whole spices and daals in direct sun for two to three days. The other is by roasting them on a pan. I follow the second method as I have no access to strong sunlight for 4 to 5 hours at a stretch! Here’s the recipe for the Saraswat Saambar Masala as made by my mom.

INGREDIENTS :

  • 1/2 cup Corriander seeds (Dhaney/Dhania)
  • 1 tsp Fenugreek seeds (Methi)
  • 3/4 tbs Mustard seeds (Mohri/Raai)
  • 1 tbs Peppercorns (Miri)
  • 1 tbs Split Bengal Gram (Chanaa Daal)
  • 1 tbs Split Black Gram Lentils, skinned (Udid daal/Urad daal)
  • 15 Dry Red Bedgi Chillies

METHOD :

  1. Clean all the whole spices, picking out small unwanted particles if any.
  2. Lightly dry roast all the mentioned whole spices and daals and cool down.
  3. When completely cooled, grind all together in a mixer grinder to get a fine powder.
  4. Store in a clean dry jar and use as required.

NOTE :

Some people may add turmeric and asafoetida to this masala as well. But I prefer adding these two spices as per requirement.

Author: tastyrecipesfrompooja

An artist by nature, I love painting, travelling to different places and photographing nature, gardening, crochet, reading, etc. It's my nature to give my best to anything and everything I do. From a person who could cook very few dishes..... I have converted myself to a person who now can cook varied dishes! I like perfection in all my work. Reading a lot of recipes, watching different famous chefs' cooking shows on television and observing their methods, techniques and tips very closely and studiously ....is what has made me a very good cook today. Though there are numerous recipes I haven't tried my hand at..... there are many other in which I have gained exerpertise only by trial and error! I still watch all interesting cookery shows on TV to gain more knowledge on cooking techniques of other cultures from here and abroad!! Nowadays, I have started adding healthy twists to my dishes as and when I can without compromising on their original taste. Started this blog to share a few recipes of mine with all other cooking enthusiasts! Happy cooking to all! šŸ˜ƒ

Leave a comment